Top Prospect Failed to do one pull up at NHL Combine

sambennett

Yahoo – He’s the best amateur hockey player in North America, he may be the top overall pick in the upcoming NHL draft and he can’t do a single pull-up.

Sam Bennett, 17, said he was “disappointed” with himself for not being able to do a pull-up at the fitness testing during this week’s NHL combine, but experts say he shouldn’t be too worried about that affecting his draft stock.

“I was wanting to do the best I can in every test,” Bennett said. “But, I guess, ultimately games aren’t won or lost if you can do a pull-up in the gym.”

I find it hard to believe someone that is a pro athlete (or about to be) can’t do ONE pull-up.  No fucking way 6-foot, 180 pound kid can’t do one.  Did he show up hungover or high to the NHL Combine or something?  Then I looked at the top of the draft order: Florida, Buffalo, Edmonton, Calgary, NY Islanders, Vancouver, Carolina.

All these teams are drafting in the top every year, stuck in mediocrity, or located in a place where there are no hockey fans.  So I’ll call BS on Bennett and say he hurt his draft stock on purpose.   Maybe the kid took a fall, maybe he didn’t.  He  is Canadian after all, so I wouldn’t put not being able to do a pull-up passed him.

Leave a comment